amiga

The Perfect Match:
Driving your Career with a Job Buddy

Susanne Nguyen

Publish on  : 07 -06-2022

Gabriele und Steffen

When Gabriele M. went from Milan to Munich in summer of 2021, he came for love: he followed his wife who settled here for professional reasons. At this time, Corona still had a big impact on personal life, that’s why looking for a job was not quite easy for Gabriele. With support of his amiga Job Buddy Steffen K., he managed to find a job in a short time though. And even more: a friend in the new homeland.

Gabriele: “In Italy, it is normal if the application documents are very long, in Germany it is completely different.”

Whether in London, South Korea or Italy: Gabriele has been working in some exciting places around the world, however, it was a challenge for the Italian to find a job in Munich that also suits him. “In contradiction to previous jobs abroad, in Munich I was looking for a senior-level job with English as working language. The competition is very tough here”, explains Gabriele, who most recently worked as a Business Development Manager.

Then, the IT engineer discovered amiga’s offers for International Professionals in social media. After an initial consultation, amiga suggested him to take part in a Job Buddy Programme: with Steffen K. who is committed to amiga and supports Internationals as a voluntary business expert since a few years already. The Munich native works as a Corporate & Business Development Manager for a large media company and is regularly involved in recruiting processes. He enjoys passing on this practical knowledge of application documents and job interviews to Internationals at amiga.

“What I like about the Job Buddy Programme at amiga: I can do it my way,” says Steffen. He and Gabriele meet regularly via telephone calls and video chats in order to analyze cover letters and CVs together and adapt them to the “German culture”, according to Gabriele, who explains: “In Italy, it is normal if the application documents are very long, in Germany it is completely different.” Steffen confirms: “I stop reading when the cover letter is longer than one page.” In addition to the tips on application documents and his online presentation on LinkedIn, Steffen sometimes also provides a bit of mental support for the IT engineer, to stay on the ball when looking for a job. “We always laughed a lot and had fun in our conversations,” emphasize Steffen and Gabriele. The two meet regularly for dinner.

Then it happened very quickly: One evening, Gabriele called Steffen excitedly: An international software company invited him to an interview the next day. Thus, he needed a few important tips to be prepared for the questions about salary expectations. Finally, he got the job as Customer Success Manager.

All's well that ends well?

Gabriele and Steffen see each other for dinner and exchange ideas professionally. “I’m interested in whether Gabriele likes his new job and how things are developing there”, says Steffen. Gabriele likes his new employer, who emphasises diversity. In his new role, he deals with people from different countries. What he will do next: He would like to pass on his newly acquired knowledge about job hunting in Munich and also volunteer at amiga. In addition, Gabriele now wants to catch up on what was difficult last year: Discover more of the city of Munich and learn more about the German language. “My wife can help me here, she speaks better German than I do,” he says with a smile.

Gabriele and Steffen took part in an amiga Job Buddy Programme. If you are also interested in a Job Buddy, please contact Cetty Perdichizzi from amiga. She is also looking forward to your questions 😉

More stories by Internationals

amiga

The Perfect Match:
Mit einer JobPatenschaft die Karriere voranbringen

Susanne Nguyen

Publish on  : 07 -06-2022

Gabriele und Steffen

Als Gabriele M. im Sommer 2021 von Mailand nach München kommt, kommt er aus Liebe: Er folgt seiner Frau, die sich aus beruflichen Gründen hier niedergelassen hat.  Zu dieser Zeit bestimmt nach wie vor Corona das Leben und auch in Sachen Jobsuche ist es für Gabriele nicht so einfach. Mithilfe seines amiga JobPaten Steffen K. ist es ihm aber in kurzer Zeit gelungen, eine Arbeitsstelle zu finden. Und noch vielmehr: einen Freund in der neuen Heimat.

Gabriele: „In Italien ist es normal, wenn die Bewerbungsunterlagen sehr lang sind, in Deutschland ist das ganz anders.“

Ob in London, Südkorea oder Italien: Gabriele hat es beruflich schon in einige spannende Orte rund um den Globus verschlagen, dennoch war es für den Italiener eine Herausforderung in München einen Job zu finden, der auch zu ihm passt. „Im Gegensatz zu früheren Anstellungen im Ausland, suchte ich in München nach einem Job auf Senior-Level, mit Englisch als Arbeitssprache. Da ist der Wettbewerb sehr hart“, erklärt Gabriele, der zuletzt als Business Development Manager tätig war. 

In Social Media entdeckt der IT-Ingenieur die Angebote für internationale Fachkräfte von amiga. Nach einer ersten Beratung schlägt ihm amiga die Teilnahme an einer JobPatenschaft vor: mit Steffen K., der sich seit ein paar Jahren schon bei amiga als Business Experte ehrenamtlich engagiert. Der Münchner arbeitet selbst als Manager Corporate & Business Developement für ein großes Medienhaus und ist dabei auch an Recruiting-Prozessen beteiligt. Dieses Praxiswissen zu Bewerbungsunterlagen und Vorstellungsgesprächen gibt er gerne bei amiga an Internationals weiter.

„Was mir bei der JobPatenschaft bei amiga gut gefällt: Ich kann das auf meine Weise gestalten“, sagt Steffen. Er und Gabriele verabreden sich regelmäßig zu Telefonaten und Videochats, um gemeinsam Anschreiben und Lebensläufe zu analysieren und an die „deutsche Kultur“ anzupassen, so Gabriele, und erklärt: „In Italien ist es normal, wenn die Bewerbungsunterlagen sehr lang sind, in Deutschland ist das ganz anders.“ Steffen bestätigt: „Ich höre auf zu lesen, wenn das Anschreiben länger als eine Seite ist.“ Neben den Tipps zu Bewerbungsunterlagen und seiner Online-Darstellung auf LinkedIn ist Steffen auch eine kleine mentale Stütze für den IT-Ingenieur, um bei der Jobsuche am Ball zu bleiben. „Wir haben in unseren Gesprächen immer viel gelacht und Spaß gehabt“, betonen Steffen und Gabriele. Die beiden verabreden sich regelmäßig zum Essen.

Und dann ging es ganz schnell: eines Abends rief Gabriele aufgeregt bei Steffen an: Er hatte ein Vorstellungsgespräch bei einem internationalen Software-Unternehmen am nächsten Tag und holte sich ein paar wichtige Tipps, um auf die Frage nach Gehaltsvorstellung gewappnet zu sein. Den Job als Customer Success Manager hat er bekommen.

Ende gut, alles gut?

Gabriele und Steffen sehen sich nach wir vor zum Essen und tauschen sich dabei auch beruflich aus. „Es interessiert mich, ob es Gabriele im neuen Job gefällt und wie es sich dort entwickelt“, so Steffen. Gabriele mag seinen neuen Arbeitgeber, der viel Wert auf Diversity setzt, so hat er mit Menschen aus unterschiedlichsten Ländern zu tun. Was er als nächstes tun wird: Sein neu erworbenes Wissen zum Thema Jobsuche in München möchte er gern weitergeben und sich bei amiga ebenfalls ehrenamtlich engagieren. Außerdem möchte Gabriele nun nachholen, was letztes Jahr schwierig war: Mehr die Stadt München entdecken und sich auch mehr mit der deutschen Sprache beschäftigen. „Da kann mir meine Frau helfen, die spricht besser Deutsch als ich“, meint er schmunzelnd.

Gabriele und Steffen haben an einer amiga JobPatenschaft teilgenommen. Wenn Du auch Interesse an einer JobPatenschaft hast, bitte kontaktiere dazu Cetty Perdichizzi von amiga. Sie steht auch für Fragen bereit 😉

 

Weitere Geschichten von Internationals lesen