amiga

Find the Key to Your Own Success

Susanne Nguyen

Publish on  : 12 -06-2022

Schlüssel zum Erfolg

As a successful marketing expert, Keiko worked for well-known fashion brands in her home country of Mexico. In Germany, starting a new career after a family break and in times of Corona was challenging. Today she has a job as a marketing manager at a digital start-up and sums it up: it is not the national borders, but rather our own mental barriers that limit us when looking for a job. If we overcome these, we will succeed in starting a career.

How was your situation before you came to Germany?
I had been working as a marketing manager for a couple of well-known cosmetics and fashion brands in my home country of Mexico for many years. I have also travelled a lot, which has also shaped my professional life: I graduated as Master of Science in Marketing & Strategy in London and met around 200 people from 30 countries. I really liked this international and multicultural environment, which is why my husband and I finally came to Germany.

How was your start in Germany?
I realized that I had made a triple transition here: I was living in a new country, I had a family with two children, and my husband had a new job. So very different from my previous life as a businessperson who loves to travel!

What have you done to advance professionally?
After childcare was secured, I concentrated on my career and quickly realized what challenges I had to tackle here: I started learning German and very importantly: building networks. I got to know Paula at a networking event via LinkedIn and supported her in marketing for her start-up – that was in spring 2020. And then Corona came… and I was back at the beginning of my career in Munich….

(c) Keiko
Keiko
cetty perdichizzi
Cetty Perdichizzi von amiga

Keiko: “We hold the key to our own success. It is good to have a clear idea of ​​where the job search journey should be headed before applying. I clearly see my international background and experience as an exposure.”  

How did you come to amiga?
My friend Paula asked me if I knew amiga. That was how I came to the amiga website and took part in the amiga Career Day 2021 in October 2021; I really liked the job fair. Shortly thereafter, I started the intensive programme “Career Coaching for Internationals”. That helped me a lot to get clarity about the question: “What do I want to do professionally? How can I move forward?”. Together with amiga, I made a list of the companies and products I wanted to target for application. In contrast to Berlin, there are not quite as many cosmetics and fashion brands here, so you have to get creative and broaden your horizons when looking for a job. At the same time, I took part in a three-month training programme for marketing professionals, the Digital Product School at TUM.

What happened then?
With my new plan in mind, I started the application phase again and was invited to several interviews in spring 2022. Then, together with Cetty from amiga, I prepared myself intensively for the interviews – also how to best deal with difficult or sensitive questions, for example about job and family. I also found the salary expectations seminars here very helpful. Finally, I received the job offer as a Marketing Manager at a digital start-up. I just started a few weeks ago!

What is your tip for other international talents?
We hold the key to our own success. It is good to have a clear idea of ​​where the job search journey should be headed before applying. I clearly see my international background and experience as an exposure.

More stories by Internationals:

amiga

Den Schlüssel zum eigenen Erfolg finden

Susanne Nguyen

Publish on  : 12 -06-2022

Schlüssel zum Erfolg

Als erfolgreiche Marketingexpertin hatte Keiko in ihrem Heimatland Mexiko für namhafte Fashionbrands gearbeitet. In Deutschland war der berufliche Neustart nach einer Familienpause und in Corona-Zeiten herausfordernd. Heute hat sie einen Job als Marketing Managerin bei einem digitalen Start-Up und resümiert: es sind nicht die Ländergrenzen, sondern vielmehr die eigenen mentalen Grenzen, die uns bei der Jobsuche einschränken. Wenn wir diese überwinden, gelingt uns der Berufseinstieg.

Wie war deine Situation, bevor Du nach Deutschland gekommen bist?
Ich hatte viele Jahre in meinem Heimatland in Mexiko als Marketing Managerin für einige namhafte Kosmetik- und Fashionmarken gearbeitet. Außerdem bin ich viel gereist, was mich beruflich auch geprägt hat: In London habe ich meinen Master of Science in Marketing & Strategy abgeschlossen und bin dabei mit rund 200 Menschen aus 30 Ländern zusammengekommen. Diese internationale und multikulturelle Umgebung hat mir sehr gefallen, deshalb sind mein Mann und ich schließlich nach Deutschland gekommen.

Wie war dein Start in Deutschland?
Mir wurde bewusst, dass ich hier einen dreifachen Wechsel vollzogen hatte: ich lebte in einem neuen Land, hatte eine Familie mit zwei Kindern und mein Mann hatte einen neuen Job. Also ganz anders als mein früheres Leben als Business-Frau, die gerne reist!

Was hast du getan, um beruflich voranzukommen?
Nachdem die Kinderbetreuung gesichert war, habe ich mich auf meine Karriere konzentriert und schnell gemerkt, welche Herausforderungen ich hier anpacken muss: Ich fing an, Deutsch zu lernen und ganz wichtig: Netzwerke aufzubauen. Über ein Networking-Event via LinkedIn lernte ich Paula kennen und unterstützte sie im Marketing bei ihrem Start-up – das war im Frühjahr 2020. Und dann kam Corona…und ist stand wieder am Anfang mit meiner Karriere in München….

(c) Keiko
Keiko
cetty perdichizzi
Cetty Perdichizzi von amiga

Keiko: “Jeder trägt den Schlüssel zum Erfolg in sich selbst…  Meine Herkunft, meine internationalen Erfahrungen betrachte ich dabei ganz klar als Bereicherung.”  

Wie bist du zu amiga gekommen?
Meine Freundin Paula fragte mich, ob ich amiga kennen würde. So kam ich zur amiga-Webseite und nahm im Oktober 2021 am amiga Karrieretag 2021 teil, die Jobmesse hat mir gut gefallen. Kurz darauf begann ich das Intensivprogramm „Karriere Beratung International“. Das hat mir sehr geholfen, um Klarheit über die Frage: „Was möchte ich beruflich machen? Wie komme ich vorwärts?“ zu bekommen. Zusammen mit amiga habe ich eine Liste erstellt, mit den Unternehmen und Produkten, die ich für Bewerbungen anvisierte. Im Gegensatz zu Berlin sind hier nämlich nicht ganz soviele Kosmetik- und Fashion Brands, deshalb muss man kreativ werden und seinen Horizont bei der Jobsuche erweitern. Parallel nahm ich bei einem dreimonatigen Trainingsprogramm für Marketingfachleute teil, der Digital Product School bei der TUM.

Wie ging es dann weiter
Mit meinen neuen Plan im Kopf startete ich erneut in die Bewerbungsphase, und wurde im Frühjahr 2022 zu mehreren Vorstellungsgesprächen eingeladen. Daraufhin bereitete ich mich zusammen mit Cetty von amiga intensiv auf die Interviews vor – auch wie man mit schwierigen oder heiklen Fragen zum Beispiel zu Job und Familie am besten umgeht. Außerdem fand ich die Seminare zum Thema Gehaltsvorstellung hier sehr hilfreich. Schlussendlich erhielt ich das Jobangebot als Marketing Manager bei einem digitalen Start-Up anzufangen. Vor ein paar Wochen habe ich angefangen!

Was ist dein Tipp für andere internationale Talente?
Jeder trägt den Schlüssel zum Erfolg in sich selbst. Es ist gut, sich klar zu werden, wohin die Reise bei der Jobsuche gehen sollte, bevor man sich bewirbt. Meine Herkunft, meine internationalen Erfahrungen betrachte ich dabei ganz klar als Bereicherung.  

Weitere Geschichten von Internationals lesen